Welcome, Guest
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  Welcome to the American Killifish Association FORUMs...  Please Join the AKA!
  HomeHelpSearchReturn to AKA Homepage  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Grindal Worms on Poly (Read 1695 times)
James Langan
YaBB Administrator
BOT Member

Afton, Minnesota
Grindal Worms on Poly
Apr 2nd, 2017 at 12:19pm

I've been raising Grindal worms on poly for many years now, with reasonable (average) success, I am using a cat chow (meow Mix) food for them.  My cultures are at approximately 70-74 dgF, and I change their water monthly.

I am wondering what other's have experienced, I do not get the huge amounts shown in photos from other fish keepers.  I am interested in the differences in the poly density, depth of poly, and water used, and the food vs worm production considerations.

Thanks for your input and help!

Jim Langan, AKA Webmaster

IP Logged

Matt Kaufman
Global Moderator

Re: Grindal Worms on Poly
Reply #1 - Apr 3rd, 2017 at 3:29am

I switched entirely to poly a few years ago. I used the green scrubbys sold by Home Depot in packs of 8 I think, usually had 3 of them in a standard cheap home depot shoebox. Water depth about 1/2 inch at most, don't need to submerge. I used Iams kitten chow (I think - pink bag, was hard to find small bags but Petsmart usually had them, and one lasted quite awhile.) The best part was I could put the bag in a cloth bag (like a pillowcase) which kept the wretched fungus gnats away.

Won't use dirt or peat or whatever again. Never was short on the grindals.

In a humid moldy environment (NYC apartment!), it worked well though instead of the gnats mold was  aproblem so I had to subculture regularly. No big deal - some wet scrubbies and another shoebox with a few holes in it.

Tyrone Genade wrote something I think for a JAKA about it? It was an excellent article.

IP Logged

Jeff Webb
Ex Member

Reply #2 - May 12th, 2017 at 6:57pm